Ethics and Philosophy Committee


This committee:

Comes to the aid of colleagues who have been attacked for demonstrating epidemiological associations that proved problematic to powerful stakeholders, or for proposing questions that powerful stakeholders might not want to be addressed. The Committee was founded in 1991 and aims to strengthen and promote ethics and philosophy in environmental epidemiology.

Recent Committee Activities:Learn more about the Ethics & Philosophy Committee with the following resources:

Ethics Guidelines for Environmental Epidemiologists (English Version) (Spanish Version)

These ethics guidelines were adopted by ISEE in 2023, as the Society's official statement on ethical conduct for environmental epidemiologists.
-    Posted 12/2023

ISEE Ethics Guidelines on Community Engagement

Conflict of Interest and Disclosure in Epidemiology

Atanu Sarkar (North America, 2024 – present)

Vice Chairs:
Nivine Abbas (Eastern Mediterranean, 2024 – present)
Helene Margolis (North America, 2024 – present)

Committee Members:
Ángel Mérida-Ortega (Latin America, 2024 – present)
Ejaz Khan (Eastern Mediterranean, 2020 – present)
Emile Whaibeh (SNRN Representative, 2022 – present)
Ireneous Soyiri (Africa, 2024 – present)
Jeffrie Quarsie (Europe, 2024 – present)
Jutta Lindert (Europe, 2020 – present)
Kristina Zierold (North America, 2024 – present)
Lissa Soares (North America, 2024 – present)
Olayinka Osuolale (Africa, 2022 – present)
Olufemi O. Aluko (Africa, 2020 – present)
Ruth A. Etzel (North America, 2019 – present)

Associate Members:
Aaron Cohen
Adaeze Wosu
Adetoun Mustapha
Ahmed Al-Delaimy
Amrutasri Nori-Sarma
Brooke Anderson
Camila Awad
Carina Lino
Carl Grimes
Celia Byrne
Chibuzor Abasilim
Chidinma Gab-Okafor
Colin Soskolne
David Sinclair
Denali Boon
Eleni Papadopoulou
Florencia Harari Thuresson
Ikenna Eze
Iman Al-Saleh
Jeliyah Clark
Jonathan Weber
Kai Wan
Kaitlyn Garrison
Katarzyna Kordas
Kate Abuaa Kyeremateng
Kate Burrows
Kate Hoffman Katherine Moon
Kent Ato Mensah
Keren Agay-Shay
Khushboo Nagal
Leah Schinasi
Linda Kahn
Lizbeth Lopez-Carrillo
Lori Hoepner
Luis Hernandez
Maria Korre
Marie-Abele Bind
Martin Tondel
Megan Woodbury
Melissa Haswell
Michael Anastario
Payel Kundu
Philippe Grandjean
Raymond R. Neutra
Shilu Tong
Wael Al-Delaimy
Weiju Zhou
Wenli Ni
Youssef Oulhote

Past Chairs:
Colin Soskolne, Founding Chair, September 1991– August 1996
Steven Coughlin, Chair, September 1996 - August 1999
Elihu Richter and Colin Soskolne, Co-Chairs, September 1999 – December 2001
Jouni Jaakkola, Chair, January 2002 – September 2003 (resigned)
Elihu Richter, Acting Chair, September 2003 – August 2004
Colin Soskolne, Chair, September 2004 – December 2004
Raymond Neutra, Chair, January 2005 – August 2006
Ruth Etzel, Chair, September 2006 – September 2008
Martin Tondel, Chair, January 2008 – Dec 2008
Wael Al-Delaimy, Chair, October 2008 – September 2014
Raymond Neutra and Martin Tondel, Co-Chairs, September 2014 – August 2019
Adetoun Mustapha, Co-Chair for Ethics Discussions, June 2018 – Dec 2019
Ruth Etzel, Chair, September 2019 – December 2023

Terms of Reference (pdf) Council Approved 4/20