John Goldsmith Award

This award was created to honor the legacy of Dr. John Goldsmith, one of the organizers, early leaders, and constant supporter of the International Society for Environmental Epidemiology. This award is given to investigators for "sustained and outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of environmental epidemiology." Recipients have typically contributed in substantive and innovative fashion to the methods and practice of epidemiology over many years.  

The recipient will be invited to present the John Goldsmith Memorial lecture at the annual conference with registration, airfare, and hotel costs paid by ISEE.

How to Apply to the John Goldsmith Award  
Any member of the ISEE (except members of the Awards Committee) may make nominations. Nominees must be current ISEE members. Submit all required materials through the online John Goldsmith Award Application.

The application should include:

  1. A cover letter from the primary nominator up to two pages in length, that describes the major contributions of the nominee to the science of environmental epidemiology and her/his impact on the field and on public health policy.
  2. A CV, with a special section that highlights service to ISEE.
  3. Letters, up to two pages in length, supporting the nomination, from up to five others familiar with the contributions of the nominee. These support letters should describe in specific terms how the nominee meets the award criteria.
  4. A portrait photo (photo of only the award recipient will be published with their bio in the journal and on the ISEE website).

The deadline for submitting 2024 award nominations is March 15, 2024.

2023 Award Winner
Francine Laden, ScD

Read More

Past Award Winners

Francesco Forastiere
Reiko Kishi
2020Manolis Kogevinas
view lecture
2019Annette Peters
view lecture
2018Mark J. Nieuwenhuijsen
view lecture
2017Aaron Cohen
2016Phillipe Grandjean
view lecture
2015Howard Hu
2014Jordi Sunyer Deu
2013Michal Krzyzanowski
2012Brenda Eskenazi
2011Irva Hertz-Picciotto
2010Frank Speizer
2009Allan Smith
2008Joel Schwartz
2007Bert Brunekreef
2006Klea Katsouyanni
2005Jonathan M. Samet 
2004Olav Axelson (posthumous) and Aaron Blair
2003Benedetto Terracini
2002Raymond Neutra
2001Wieslaw P. Jedrychowski
2000Anthony McMichael 
1999Douglas Dockery